Home » From the Kitchen » Challenge #1

Challenge #1

Soon after I received the gift of grandchildren I began an annual tradition of making decorated cookies with them for Christmas.  This has evolved into making decorated cookies for Valentine’s Day and Halloween.  As time has gone on I’ve become more interested in the “art” of the cookie rather than making a tasty treat for them.

This year I not only made cookies for them, I expanded to include my grown children and my husband’s grown children.  So, now I’m in full-fledged cookie making mode at least three times a year.

After searching the Internet for this topic I have decided that it can be a really fun and creative outlet.  I don’t think I want to make cookies to sell, but I do enjoy experimenting with the idea of the frosting.  Mainly because it allows me to mix colors!

One of the adults on my gift list actually thinks I make the best cookies he has ever tasted.  He looks forward to them every time they’re available.  He’s so kind.  I hated to break it to him that I use the Pillsbury Sugar Cookie mix for the actual cookie.  And Martha Stewart’s Royal Icing recipe for the frosting.  On that one thing I do make the effort.

However, after giving that some thought I decided it probably wouldn’t hurt to explore and test a homemade cookie against the Pillsbury mix.  So, that is my challenge.  After all, if I can make it from scratch that is actually less expensive and I’m all about less expensive.  I’m anti-appliances too.  But I’ll talk about that later.

So, I found a couple of websites that publish their cookie recipes and I’m going to try this out.

If you want to explore a little you can search cookie decorating on YouTube.  There are tons of videos on it.  Or you can go to Sweetopia and watch her videos.  It is her sugar cookie recipe I’m going to compare to the Pillsbury mix.

Leave a Reply

