Home » Just Sayin' » I’m Fat

I’m Fat

Yesterday my husband and I went to the first birthday of his only granddaughter/grandchild.   And in this age of immediate social media almost before we were home from the party there were pictures posted on Facebook.  And for the first time in a long time I allowed myself to really look at those pictures and say to myself, “You’re fat.  Do something.”  I was planning on doing something starting this week, but the pictures convinced me I really must start somewhere and keep going.

As a little history, I am a cancer survivor.  I had breast cancer seven, almost eight years ago.  I am also over the age of 60.  And I’ve been on hormone replacement therapy for over two decades.  But the biggest factor in this weight is I’m in a very happy marriage.  I know that sounds really silly, but I have noticed that being married to someone that really loves me and lets me be me has given me every excuse in the book to do what I want and a lot of that involves eating what I want.  I’m not blaming my husband, I’m just saying that is my reality.  It didn’t used to be so.  I was in a very sad marriage before.  My husband was hyper-critical and I was never good enough.  I worked myself to the bone.  Once that marriage ended I didn’t gain weight because I hoped at some point I would remarry and have a chance to really have a loving marriage.  And my husband, who is a widower, will tell you the same thing.  We were very trim when we started dating.

The cancer also led me to a doctor that is always on the cutting edge of what they are learning about cancer.  Annoyingly, he is on the cutting edge of what they are learning about cancer.  I keep asking him just how he plans for me to die because if I followed his advice to the letter I don’t think that would be a possibility.  Fortunately, I haven’t done that so I assume I’m right on schedule for my check-out time.  However, it’s gone past that now.  The latest thing he dropped on me was that there had been a study done recently that said that if a person cut out wheat and refined sugar five days a week their inflammation levels would drop to the point that having it for two days a week would not make a difference.

And that brings me to my point here.  My daughter recently introduced me to the 5/2 Diet.  You eat five days a week and you fast two days a week. Here is a link to Michael Mosley explaining it.  I am starting tomorrow, Monday, April 8th.

Here goes nothing!  When I get brave enough I’ll post the picture from the party and maybe in a few weeks I can also post improvement.  Nothing before this has worked, not restricted calories, not yoga, not working out daily at the gym.  So, wish me luck.  I’m not good at this.

Leave a Reply

